books · Uncategorized

January Wrap-up!

January was the first month I’d read any books for fun since August, and somehow I ended up reading 10! This month, I finished five regular novels and five graphic novels!

 

Starting off with the Regular Books:

The first book I read was A Winter’s Promise by Christelle Dabos and translated by Hildegarde Sirle. This book took me a long time to get through, but I throughly enjoyed the process of reading. I had a lot of praises and few criticisms. However, the more time that has passed since I read this book, the more annoyed I became. A lot of annoying things in the book I remember (like Ophelia constantly being a wimp despite supposedly having an iron will), and fewer of the things I liked (the characters may have been well developed, but man were they terrible people). I think that this book was incredibly well written despite this, and that it just may not be for everyone. I do want to continue with the series, once the rest come out in English.

Sara (The United Kingdom)’s review of The Cruel Prince

The next book I read was The Cruel Prince by Holly Black. I actually read this for a book club on instagram, and I was happy to do so because it had been on my tbr for a long time. I had heard a lot of hype surrounding this book, and luckily I really enjoyed it! It was the kind of book that I just kept wanting to read to see what was going to happen next, and it was exciting all the way through. There were some points I wasn’t as fond of (like a romance between two specific characters…….) but overall I liked how flawed and messed up everybody was: the protagonist, the antagonist, everyone you meet. I recommend this book and am super excited to read the sequel!

This was one of those books that all the cool kids in fourth grade were reading and I wanted to read too, but couldn’t figure out how to find at the library. So, I just decided to read it at the ripe old age of 18. I enjoyed it, and thought that it was well written despite the discrepancy between me and the intended audience. I do think I would have liked it more as a younger kid, but am glad I read it anyways.

The Year of the Rat by Grace Lin — Reviews, Discussion ...

I wanted to read The Year of the Rat because the author, Grace Lin, wrote my favorite book of my childhood and my life: Where the Mountain Meets the Moon. Year of the Rat is somewhat autobiographical, which I like, and it was cool to read. It’s also meant for a somewhat younger audience, and while I really did enjoy it I think that younger people would enjoy it even more. This is also a very important book, because it has lots of representation for different kids that may read it.

On a very, very different note, we have Girls of Paper and Fire by Natasha Ngan. This book deals with abuse (mental, physical, and sexual) in a fantasy setting. It became gruesome fast and often, so major content warning for that. That being said, I think that all of the details and emotions are what makes this book so important. The message and characters are well developed and I feel deeply for them. The issues that I have with this book tend to have more to do with book mechanics than anything deeper (a couple of plot points seemed slightly illogical and I would have preferred the book to be told through Wren’s perspective). Everything deeper than that was very well done, and I think this book is so, so important for the topics it deals with.

 

Graphic Novels I Read This Month:

I read graphic novels from two series, so I’m just going to talk about each series together.

Catch-Up - Avatar The Last Airbender: The Promise

The show Avatar: The Last Airbender has a bunch of graphic novel trilogies that have come out now, so I thought I’d read the first trilogy (The Promise). The books are short, even for comics, and it didn’t feel like a trilogy as much as three chapters in one short book. They were a lot of fun, and I can’t say too much without spoiling the show, but the ~vibe~ is similar to the original series and I’m glad I read them!

Watch Your Lie in April Online at Hulu

I also read the first two manga volumes of Your Lie in April by Naoshi Arakawa. I want to watch the anime at some point, but I don’t know if I should finish reading the series first or not. I heard the ending was sad, but I still want to read and watch it! The first two were nice, and actually pretty inspiring, so we’ll see how it goes.

 

And there you have it folks! All the books I finished in the month of January 2019! I hope February will be even better! 🙂

Question of the Day: What did you read in January?

-Josanna

Leave a comment