Uncategorized

Bookmas Day Nine

Hello! Today I am back with a Bookmas day nine blog post, which is actually day two for me because of extenuating circumstances. Anyways, this is a readathon and video/blogathon hosted by the fabulous youtuber Haileyinbookland so if you do not know her, definitely check out her videos!

Today’s prompt is to write about nine young adult books that came out in 2016. I don’t have nine young adult books that I read that came out this year, but I have six (sort of kind of) and two middle grades that came out this year, so I guess I’ll tell you about those! These are in no particular order by the way.

1) This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab

Image result for this savage song

This was basically an urban fantasy, and what I particularly liked was the fact that it was a ya book, with boy and girl main characters, and no romance. The sequel comes out in 2017, so I’m crossing my fingers that that one will turn out to be just as good.

2) Passenger by Alexandra Bracken

Image result for passenger alexandra bracken

I read this one recently, and I actually quite liked it. I heard that it was a bit of a disappointment for many people, but I didn’t find that true for me. Maybe that’s because I haven’t read her other series, The Darkest Minds. The sequel for this one comes out very, very soon, so I am hopeful for that one as well.

3) Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

Image result for harry potter and the cursed child

This one seems to be a disappointment for many people also, but I enjoyed it. Maybe I just have low standards. I don’t really know.

4) Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them

Image result for fantastic beasts script

I’m kind of cheating with this one, because I didn’t read the screenplay. But I have ordered it, and I saw (and loved) the move. So I’m only cheating a little.

5) The Last Star by Rick Yancey

Image result for the last star

This is the conclusion to the 5th Wave trilogy, and I have to say that I was underwhelmed, both with the book and the entire series.

6) The Smell of Other People’s Houses by Bonnie-Sue Hitchcock

Image result for the smell of other people's houses

This is historical fiction set in Alaska, and believe it or not was one of my favorite books all year. It’s pretty short (not even 250 pages) but fantastic. I wrote a full review for it here.

And now we are getting into the middle grade books:

7) When the Sea Turned to Silver by Grace Lin

Image result for when the sea turned to silver

I’ve said many things about this book (and this author) in the past, and basically all of them were good things. Read my full review here.

8) The Other Boy by M.G. Hennessey

Image result for the other boy mg hennessey

This is about a 12 year old transgender boy, and I have a review for it here.

Huzzah. I have officially run out of books that I have read that were published in 2016. So, here is one that I bought that was published in 2016 but have not yet read:

9) Tales of the Peculiar by Ransom Riggs

Image result for tales of the peculiar

Nice.

And my current read is The Gift by Cecilia Ahern, and I think that I have made good progress on it- given that I have a concussion.

Thank you so much for reading, and I will hopefully see you all in my next post!

Leave a comment